Coffee Break ☕

A memoir of donuts, coffee, the pandemic, and dating.

L.B. Lewis
4 min readMar 30, 2021

--

Taken from L.B. Lewis’s SMALL TALK WITH MYSELF, #1 New Release on Amazon in Humor + Entertainment Short Reads.

I love coffee. But it wasn’t always this way.

Here’s why: most people don’t know this but in high school I was in a training video for a large donut chain. My donut boss said I did a great job at the drive-through and that I spoke clearly. That’s how that happened but I never saw the video they filmed, even though I looked for it once and a while online.

I worked at that donut shop partly because my swim coach liked those donuts and partly because it was the new thing in town. But really it just made sense to me that I would work at some type of fast food place near my house when I turned sixteen. I had been working since I was eight and ready to get my first real job.

At this donut shop, they sold mainly donuts and coffee. My favorite part was making the prohibited “custom donuts” like double glazing the glazed donuts and mixing the custard and the jelly together for one plump sugar bomb. Once I really did eat a dozen donuts during break time. Of course I did this when no one was looking.

My least favorite part was making coffee — when everyone was looking.

--

--

L.B. Lewis

Author of SMALL TALK WITH MYSELF, a 2022 Official Selection of Catalyst Festival and #1 Amazon book. Views are my own. Founder: MonteCristoStudio.com.